Goodhue County, Minnesota

 

 ~ Stanton Township ~

Stanton consists of that portion of township 112, range 18, lying in Goodhue County. It is divided into river terrace and upland, the greater portion of it being the former. There are two, and in some places three, distinct ten-aces, which are practically level, extending along both sides of Prairie creek and the Cannon River. The latter valley is frequently more than a mile wide, and embraces Large and valuable farms. The upland is undulating and has a soil similar to that of the terraces, although its sub-soil is usually clayey rather than gravelly. There is timber along some portions of the Little Cannon and sparsely along the hanks of Prairie creek. The section along this creek is broad and beautiful, bordered by the higher prairie lands, which venders it picturesque and charming to all who behold it.

The township is bounded on the north by Cannon River, which separates it from Dakota County, on the east by Cannon Falls, on the south by Warsaw and on the west by Dakota County.

Stanton was the original name applied to this township, but at its organization it was changed to Lillian, Stanton not having proved acceptable to the state authorities. It was later, however, changed back to Stanton, the name being given in honor of William Stanton, Sr., one of the earliest settlers. The township was originally a New England settlement, most of the pioneers being natives of Vermont and of Puritan ancestry. Some moved further west, but many of them remained, and their descendants still live on the original farms.

Late in the fall of 1854 John and George Seasons made claims on the Little Cannon in the eastern part of the township. Soon after, Jonathan and Alonzo Dibble and William Thomas settled near them. In 1855 came the real influx of immigration, when a party of New Englanders arrived from Wisconsin, where they had previously made a settlement. The party consisted of Norman Daniels, William Stanton. Sr., William Stanton, Jr., Robert Deakin, Samuel Daniels and George Gould. There were also a number of others in the party, as well as the families of those mentioned. In the fall of the same year Peter Fagen and Hugh Wooden, with the father and two sisters of the latter, settled here, but one by one the entire family of the Woodens died, leaving no survivors.

The first death was that of Mrs. George Seasons. The marriage rites were performed for the first time for George Gould and Experience Daniels, in October, 1855. The first religious services in the town were held in the winter of 1855-56, at the house of William Stanton, Sr., Rev. J. W. Hancock, of Red Wing, officiating. William Cleveland taught the first school. Rev. Hancock says: "The log house built by William Stanton, Sr., near the road leading to Faribault from the nearest Mississippi towns, was for several years the only place for tin entertainment of travelers between Cannon Falls and the further West. Mr. Stanton's latch string was always hanging out and every civil appearing stranger was welcome to such accommodation as he had. He frequently entertained fifty persons the same night. Not many of those who came to settle at that time were able to have good sized log houses. Sod houses and board shanties were common. The years which have passed since then have brought great changes."

In the early days there were two flouring mills, one owned by Messrs. Bailey and Collins on the Big Cannon, and the other by Messrs. Wilcox and Archibald on the Little Cannon. The latter, known as the Oxford flouring mill, was burned several years ago. The Methodist Episcopal Church was built in 1874 on section 32. It is 28x44 and cost $2,000. The Oxford Methodist church was completed in June, 1873, size 26x40. These churches were the first in the township.

Stanton's contribution to the Civil War was as follows:

Jonathan Clifford
Ezra Cornell
Emanuel Deaken
Daniel Goodhue
William Goudy
John W. Gould
Samuel Gould
Charles Goodhue
L. B. Hat
Hiram Hoffstetter
Whitney Jewell
Elisha A. Jackson
John W. Moore
W. II. McDonald
William E. Poe
Jonathan S. Poe
Reby S. Philbert
James L. Scofield
Charles M. Scofield
Edwin Season
Sylvester Trusdell
Edward Thomas
Joseph Thomas
Elijah T. Thomas
Gilbert Trusdell
Charles Vierkent
Edmund Deaken
John Chase
James Strange
Otis B. Bailey
James Babb. Jr.
David Denny
Henry Drought
Patrick Quinlan
Eli Marsh
Andrew Norelius
William Harrison
August Kaunlke
Reinhart Reibath

Stanton is a station on the Chicago & Great Western railroad, in Stanton Township, twenty-five miles southwest of Red Wing. It has a hotel, post office, a church, schoolhouse and several places of business.

Oxford Mills is situated on the Little Cannon, and here were located the Oxford flouring mills. Here are now a Methodist church, residences and other buildings. Cascade is a settlement in the northwestern part of the township.

  Goodhue County |Minnesota AHGP 

Source: History of Goodhue County Minnesota, Franklyn Curtiss-Wedge, H. C. Cooper Jr, & Company, Chicago, 1909.

 

Please Come Again!!





This page was last updated Friday, 11-Sep-2015 13:00:33 EDT

 Copyright 2011-2022 AHGP - Judy White
The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.