Wright County, Minnesota


 Clearwater Township Land Records 1857 - 1879

The following transcriptions from the land office records gives the original owners of all the land pre-empted and homesteaded in Wright County. This is the roll of honor of those who dared the rigors of a pioneer country and started the first developments. The list is in the main accurate, though, through carelessness of the land office registers and their clerks, the original entries are often misspelled, and transcriptions of more or less illegible handwriting since that date have distorted some of the names in various ways. But especial efforts have been made to insure accuracy in this printed list, and the names of thousands of old pioneers will be recognized.

The first claims in the Congressional township


1-F. P. Robinson, August 4
Horace Webster, August 7
Rebecca Wheelon, July 31
W. H. Fisher. August 20
2-F. P. Robinson, August 4
Artemus Stevens, July 2
Town Council Fremont City, August 8
B. H. Luce, September 2
3 Town Council Fremont City, August 26
James Crombell, July 2
H. McCrory, July 2
10-I. L. Chase, September 29
Abel Kent, September 8
Emma C. K. Stevenson, September 8
Henry Townsend. June 22
L. Loughton, August 31
11-A. T. Boyington, August 7
Charles Folsom, September 7
Solomon Thorlonder, July 12
E. H. Whitney, August 22
Albert F. Matzky, August 6
12-W. H. Fisk, August 20
Elias Cowon
Horace Webster, August 7
A. T. Boyington, August 7
Samuel A. Hurd, December 5
13-Samuel A. Hurd, December 5
Nelson C. Draper, July 15
Samuel A. Hurd, December 5
Elisha Cowon, July 22
George R. Fuller, October 8
14-A. F. Matzky, October 6
E. H. Whitney, August 22
Albert Hogemon, July 20
L. Loughton, August 31
15-L. Loughton, August 31
A. W. Williams, July 25
21-George W. McCrory, July 28
26-1. H. Bates, July 25
28-T. B. Titus
33-F. Kothmon, September 24
34-M. H. Goodman, September 21
F. Kothmon, September 24
35-James A. Thurlough, September 21


3-F. M. Cadwell, October 13
10-N. L. Loughton, October 13
F. M. Cadwell, October 13
11-F. M. Cadwell, October 13
12-W. W. Webster, June 2
15-O. Laughton, October 26
22-S. N. Nixon, November 13
24-Thomas Tollington, June 17
G. W. Canney, May 17
27-James E. Spencer, May 10
33-G. C. Marshall, October 30


12-James Stevenson, May 30
14-J. N. Laughton, September 21
15-O. Hyatt, June 7
15-J. N. Laughton, September 21
James Lee, September 20
24-E. Grant, June 25


2-J. Evans, October 13
11-Heirs of R. H. Kirk, October 12
13-G. B. Bradbury, July 21
21-Cyrus Smith, October 13
23-James Maxwell, September 24
27-C. A. Wiegond, February 13
James Conly
28-Louis Wiegond, October 13
C. A. Wiegond, February 13
22-Thomas Murphy, October 16.


32-Jennie L. Knickerbocker, February 5


26-J. P. Bosworth, September 22


32-C. Dalley, April 29


26-William Johnson, March 3


27-D. Connell, December 22


28-Joseph Ponsford, March 13
21-John M. Mitchell, October 26


Herman Niekerbocker, August 5


14-James Maxwell, September 6


30-John Conoly


11-William Dixon, April 12
34-George Fetter, March 20


22-W. J. Smith


22-Isaac Philo, March 28
26-R. J. Shannon, July 17
34-Charles Valldey, November 17


24-A. M. Connick, September 25
Hiram Connick, September 15
Nelson Sheldon, December 27
26-R. Eccles, May 15


23-Joseph Johnson, October 16
Nelson Sheldon, September 11
G. W. Trofton, November 16
24-Richard Bell, June 17
John Dodds, March 4
26-R. F. Anderson, August 28
32-J. N. R. Rodgers, December 20


33-M. Murphy, March 28
23-S. Sheldon, April 24
27-D. Connolly, April 26


32-D. B. Knickerbocker, March 31

  Wright County |Minnesota AHGP 

Source: History of Wright County, Minnesota, by Franklyn Curtiss-Wedge, Volume I, 1915


Please Come Again!!


This page was last updated Friday, 11-Sep-2015 11:39:24 EDT

 Copyright 2011-2022 AHGP - Judy White
The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.