Wright County, Minnesota


 Fractional Township Rockford Township Land Records 1856 - 1871

Fractional township-Rockford
Township 119, Range 24

The following transcriptions from the land office records gives the original owners of all the land pre-empted and homesteaded in Wright County. This is the roll of honor of those who dared the rigors of a pioneer country and started the first developments. The list is in the main accurate, though, through carelessness of the land office registers and their clerks, the original entries are often misspelled, and transcriptions of more or less illegible handwriting since that date have distorted some of the names in various ways. But especial efforts have been made to insure accuracy in this printed list, and the names of thousands of old pioneers will be recognized.

The first claims in the Congressional township


5-I. S. Burnside, October 2
6-David Cook. August 8
7-David Cook, August 8
8-Amasa S. Gordon, August 8
William Sleight, September 29
9-Frederick Clark, February 4
17-William B. Burrell, August 25
William Sleight, September 29
Isaac P. Harvey, September 15
Cyrus C. Jenks, September 15
18 - Phebe Brownell, December 24
20-Cyrus C. Jenks, September 15
Cyrus Redlon, July 15
Isaac P. Harvey, July 15
G. D. George, September 29
C. O. Thomas, July 16
21-Joseph Wolf, 1858 July 16
C. A. Comstock, July 19
29-George F. Ames, June 23
Joel Florida. July 23
30-James D. Young, October 20
Albert H. Taisey, October 30
31-S. H. Morse, July 15


4-Jacob B. Miller, February 2
John Frederick, July 15
5-Robert Godfrey, June 25
6-William Godfrey, June 25
Herman B. Cole, March 24
Gabriel T. Harrow, July 23
7- Frederick Rellon, October 21
Sally Woodard, August 31
8- Thomas Prestidge, September 14
John Meisell, June 1
9-Ann C. Poolton, April 20
Casimer Geib, March 14
10-Prank Leider, August 3
18-Azenath Angel, July 8
George L. Morse, December 23
19-John Kirk, May 2
Allen G. Sexton, July 25
20- Enoch Miller, August 18
29-John M. Buot, March 27
30- Benjamin F. Bailey, April 13


4-Ludwig Roloff, January 27


8-Owen Davies, December 7


3-Christian Wolff, October 9
Andrew Borngesser, October 8
William Volbrecht, October 9
Henry Snopeef, October 26
5-Thomas Walker, October 17
17-Jackson Steward, October 24
18-Asa W. Lucas, March 1
30-John F. Powers, October 18
31-Artemus W. Dorman, October 18


2-Henry Wolff, December 19


4-Frank Wagner, April 11


7-Jane Owen, December 30
9-Frederick Puckett, November 12


7-William S. Darrow, June 1


5-James Sheridan, December 11

  Wright County |Minnesota AHGP 

Source: History of Wright County, Minnesota, by Franklyn Curtiss-Wedge, Volume I, 1915


Please Come Again!!


This page was last updated Saturday, 14-Nov-2015 10:39:56 EST

 Copyright 2011-2022 AHGP - Judy White
The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.