Wright County, Minnesota


Southside Township Land Records 1857 - 1877

Township 121, Range 28

The following transcriptions from the land office records gives the original owners of all the land pre-empted and homesteaded in Wright County. This is the roll of honor of those who dared the rigors of a pioneer country and started the first developments. The list is in the main accurate, though, through carelessness of the land office registers and their clerks, the original entries are often misspelled, and transcriptions of more or less illegible handwriting since that date have distorted some of the names in various ways. But especial efforts have been made to insure accuracy in this printed list, and the names of thousands of old pioneers will be recognized.

The first claims in the Congressional township


9-A. A. Dean, August 27
10-A. Montgomery, August 27
13-Julia Prescott, June 23
L. Dumarce, June 27
14-J. S. Abell, October 2
24-L. Dumarce, June 23
27-C. H. Rogers, October 21
29-A. J. Brackett, November 6


10-N. Bryon, January 7
14-J. B. Mayhew, September 8
15-D. G. Keefe, June 7
21-S. H. Lee, April 1
22- William Vonderlinde, November 27
J. C. Dunn, February 27
24-W. Warren, November 27


8-Cyrus Root, May 28
4- V. W. Olds, June 24
J. S. Noyes, October 21


10-A. Nelson
20-J. W. Gondes, November 3
4-Town of Fair Haven, June 28


20-John S. Weigond, July 12


10-H. S. Bowen, February 3


J. O. Smith, November 18
28-W. A. Smith. November 18


18-H. G. Root, July 22


30-A. Kilborn, August 14
26-John Shaffner, April 26
14- C. A. Robinson, October 18


12-J. R. Robinson, September 8
J. S. Noyes, September 8
24-W. Warren, November 27
30-H. L. Gordon, July 23


10-T. J. Woodward, October 1
20-H. L. Gordon, March 13
24-Charles Dally, March 9


13-Isabelle Mayhew, November 23
20-J. Koekler, November 29
21-Abel Lombert, July 19
J. Krontz, August 26
34-P. Gould, June 24


2-A. W. Tucker, June 27
8-William M. Tietjen, September 24
15-John Howard, March 11
20-H. L. Gordon, January 2
22-C. W. Partridge, August 22, 1871
Levi Rudolph, May 31
23-A. Banon
26-M. Haywood, February 27
28-John Cooper, January 27
34-J. Gould, July 11
A. P. Layton


23-James Davis, May 14
18-E. S. Shupe, August 29


8-T. Ewing, November 18


30-J. Goble, October 12
J. S. Bower, October 12
8-W. M. Hathaway, October 12


8-J. N. Brown, October 25
13-S. B. Hoyt, October 24
26-S. A. Gordon, February 12


24-N. Dally, October 30
30-Edward Marquett, December 4

  Wright County |Minnesota AHGP 

Source: History of Wright County, Minnesota, by Franklyn Curtiss-Wedge, Volume I, 1915


Please Come Again!!


This page was last updated Friday, 11-Sep-2015 11:39:35 EDT

 Copyright 2011-2022 AHGP - Judy White
The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.