Olmsted County, Minnesota


Olmsted Townships

In 1858 Emerson Hodges, of Marion, and Dr. Hector Galloway, of Oronoco, were elected State Senators, and Peter F. Lawshe, of Rochester; J. Swaine Sawyer, of Chatfield; David L. King, of Kalmar, and G. T. Covell, of High Forest, Representatives. That session of the Legislature was not called together and the Representatives were deprived of the honor of serving their constituents, but the Senators held over and met in 1860, with G. W. Green, of Pleasant Grove; Alfred J. Olds, of Quincy; Abraham Ozmun, of Cascade, and J. Swaine Sawyer, of Chatfield, as Representatives.

In April, 1859, the county was organized into the following townships, eighteen in number: Cascade, Dover, Eyota, Elmira, Farmington, Haverhill, High Forest, Kalmar, Marion, New Haven, Orion, Oronoco, Pleasant Grove, Quincy, Rochester, Rock Dell, Salem and Viola.

In 1860 the county government was changed back and the commissioners divided the county into five commissioner districts, as follows, which is still the arrangement: First District. Rochester township and city of Rochester; Second District, townships of Salem, Rock Dell, High Forest and Kalmar; Third District, townships of Marion, Pleasant Grove, Orion and Elmira; Fourth District, townships of Eyota, Dover, Quincy, Viola and Zumbrota (now Haverhill; Fifth District, townships of Oronoco, New Haven, Cascade and Farmington.

Olmsted County Townships

Cascade Dover Eyota Elmira
Farmington Haverhill High Forest Kalmar
Marion New Haven Orion Oronoco
Pleasant Grove  Quincy Rochester Rock Dell
Salem .. .. Viola

  Olmsted County |Minnesota AHGP 

Source: History of Olmsted County Minnesota, by Hon. Joseph A. Leonard, Chicago, Goodspeed Historical Association, 1910.


Please Come Again!!

This page was last updated Friday, 11-Sep-2015 12:27:56 EDT

 Copyright 2011-2021 AHGP - Judy White
The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.