Goodhue County, Minnesota


 ~ Townships ~

Goodhue County consists of twenty-three townships, all of which are practically the same in area and name as when first constituted in 1858. They are: Welch, Burnside, Wacoota, Stanton, Cannon Falls, Vasa, Featherstone, Bay Creek, Florence, Central Point, Warsaw, Leon, Belle Creek, Goodhue, Belvidere, Holden, Wanamingo, Minneola, Zumbrota, Kenyon, Cherry Grove, Roscoe and Pine Island. Red Wing formerly had a township organization. Previous to 1858 precincts had been established, but townships were not laid out as regularly organized political divisions until that year, when, under a new ad passed by the legislature, Martin S. Chandler. William P. Tanner and Jesse McIntire, the three gentlemen selected, defined and named the townships in Goodhue County as follow. Where no note is made of subsequent changes, the township at present remains as at that time constituted.

Goodhue County Townships

Belle Creek Belvidere Burnside* Cannon Falls
Central Point* Cherry Grove Featherstone Florence
Frontenac* Goodhue Hay Creek Holden
Kenyon Leon Minneola Pine Island
Roscoe Stanton Vasa Wacouta
Wanamingo Warsaw Welch Zumbrota

* No longer a township

 Goodhue County | Minnesota AHGP 

Source: History of Goodhue County Minnesota, Franklyn Curtiss-Wedge, H. C. Cooper Jr, & Company, Chicago, 1909.


Please Come Again!!

This page was last updated Friday, 11-Sep-2015 13:00:33 EDT

 Copyright 2011-2021 AHGP - Judy White
The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.